So here’s the thing….

The thing….
is….
It’s cold.

I mean its really cold and has been for EVER!!! I am so fed up of feeling cold I’m seriously considering selling everything I own and moving to Crete or Morocco or anywhere hot! Ok maybe not but if the British weather doesn’t buck up its ideas soon I’m going to be pale, uninspired and poor.

AND I’ve eaten more cake so far this year than I have in my entire life! No jokes!

So the main issue I have with this arctic weather is that my studio is basically like a fridge/freezer … in Iceland …. With all 4 walls exposed to gale force winds… In a… You get the picture!

My studio is actually built inside the boys workshop which is in the middle of nowhere approx 13 miles from my warm, toasty home. As I’m sure you can imagine, donning 8 jumpers and heading out there after getting up at 6am and working till 6pm just isn’t quite the most appealing event of the day!

And you wouldn’t believe the GUILT I feel over all of this lack of sewing!

Which is absurd!

The other thing is the whole summer bags in winter. I’m still battling with my next lot of designs and struggling to find the fabrics I want to use to make these aforementioned bags!

Moan. Groan. Whine. Blah.

I honestly don’t mean to sound negative. I LOVE to sew and I really want to turn my bag thing into an entire empire! Employing all of my creative friends while we earn our millions making the ‘next big thing’ (Think Cambridge Satchel Company!)!

So here’s the new plan! (yes despite all the moaning I so have a plan)

1. Move studio somewhere warmer, motivating, inspirational and cosy!

This may end up being our spare room but I’m working on finding anywhere closer to home first! Perhaps splashing out on some antique French style furniture!

2. Find leather, tweed and gorgeous fabric suppliers!

3. Take some time out to create without the pressure of made to order. You heard me right… I’m sorry to say that I’m taking a little sabbatical. Take it as annual leave if you will! For 2 years I’ve been working on life, bags and full time on whatever job I’ve managed to hold down at the time.

I’m going to spend a couple of months working on designs and building up my stock ready for a big unveil, relaunch thing later on this year!

Don’t forget about me now will you! Ill try and keep you all in the loop and update you on my progress but now that the pressure is off I can already feel my creative juices flowing!

Ill be thinking of you xxx

Leave a Reply

